Sweet Potato Bowl

Morning!

I recently decided to go dairy-free, so yesterday I did a lot of pinteresting looking for recipe ideas. I came across a breakfast sweet potato bowl that was totally Bright Line approved, so I had to try it. Y’all, this is so good. So so good. Trust me.

Prep time: 1 hr 15 mins (if sweet potatoes are prepared in advance: <5 mins)

Ingredients for 1 serving:

  • 4 oz cooked sweet potato
  • 2 oz banana
  • 0.5 oz nuts
  • Cinnamon

Directions:

I decided to make my sweet potatoes the night before because the recommended cook time is 45 minutes to an hour. I rinsed off my 4 sweet potatoes and patted them dry. I poked them all around about 7 times with a fork and wrapped them in tin foil. They should still be a little damp when you place them in the tin foil. I baked them on 400ยบ F for an hour. Cook time will vary depending on the size of your potatoes. When you take them out, cut them in half and be sure that they are cooked all the way through and are a mashable consistency. If not, put them back in the oven for 10-15 minutes at a time. Once my potatoes were ready, I unpeeled all of them and mashed them together in some Tupperware, so I could refrigerate my leftovers. You can then measure out your individual serving of sweet potato, banana, and nuts. I heated my sweet potato in the microwave for about 30 seconds because mine was cold from being stored overnight. I mashed my banana together with my sweet potato and mixed in my nuts afterwards (I used pecans). I topped it all with cinnamon and it was definitely one of the best breakfasts I’ve had on my BLE journey!

7041df1e-cfcf-42c1-9652-88a1e6400a9a1.jpg

This breakfast is so good for those of us who need something sweet in the morning to satisfy our sweet tooth throughout the day! It was also quick and easy to prepare because I had made my potatoes the night before. I still needed 4 oz of fruit and 1/4 of my protein after this, so I measured out my fruit and topped it with 2 oz of yogurt (mine was dairy-free) and cinnamon.

For my fellow coffee lovers:

Instead of topping your fruit with yogurt, just use the leftover 1/4 protein in your coffee!

Yum! I hope y’all enjoy!

One thought on “Sweet Potato Bowl

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

